Five Old French Dances – printed book


This is a printed book that will be shipped to you from Bristol, UK. Overseas customers may prefer to buy this book from Lulu [more information].

This item is also available as an e-book.

1 in stock (can be backordered)

Categories: , ,


Marin Marais (1656 – 1728) was a French composer and viol player at the royal court of Versailles. His most famous works are his five books of Pièces de Viole, from which these pieces are taken. The Five Old French Dances were first presented as a single edition in the early twentieth century, arranged for viola and piano. This ukulele edition is based on this arrangement, and is designed to be playable solo, or with the original piano part.

Arrangements In This Book

  • Rondeau – L’Agréable
  • La Provençale
  • La Musette
  • La Matelotte
  • Le Basque